Why you should cheat on your lipstick

I have to admit-I’ve never really been a lipgloss kind of gal. Since being little and watching my Mum daily applying her bright pink lipstick and my severe allergy to anything remotely shiny (skin, tights, walls etc) I knew that lipstick would always be my one and only.

However after hearing about Bourjous’ Rouge Addition Velvet gloss I thought I would give it a go. Rather than your usual shiny, sticky, ‘I wish I had tied my hair up because it is now stuck to my lips thanks to the wind’ gloss, the rouge addition gloss dries when it is on the lips and is matte, perfectos.

10966990_10152731157913233_1646260881_n (2)

So I gave it a go in the shade ‘Pink Pong’ and was really impressed. Due to growing up wearing bright lipstick I have the mantra that it can never be too bright. Finding a really bright pink is harder than you would think, but this product stood out and was very long lasting.

11007612_10152743827903233_2135810930_n (2)(Bad quality picture but this is me at the end of a night out and you can see that the product is still going strong!)

So I thought I had found my one and only. We spent a lot of time together, people would compliment me on my choice and I sometimes wondered whether I could stop my search and we could just settle down forever.

Then last week I was innocently mooching around my local boots and BAM I saw it- Bourjous Rouge Addition…lipstick.

Oh the memories of my previous life flooded back. The satisfying click of the lid, the ease of applying a solid product rather than liquid… so I did it. I cheated on my lipgloss.

I purchased Bourjous Rouge Addition Lipstick in ‘Pretty in Nude’, which is a nude colour so obviously not a direct comparison but I was testing more the quality, effect and feeling of the product. But then after a few days of using the lipstick I realised something, it was good-but it wasn’t the lipgloss.

Yes, there, I said it. I preferred a lipgloss over lipstick. My mother would be ashamed. But honestly the lipstick was okay, but it wasn’t as long lasting or anything special really. It also wasn’t matte which was what attracted me to the gloss in the first place.

“I don’t need your life story just give me a quick summary”. Go on then..

Lipgloss= Really good if you want a sharp pop of colour (obviously not so much if you choose a more natural shade), matte, one coat is enough, very long lasting.

£8.99 from Boots= http://www.boots.com/en/Bourjois-Rouge-Edition-Velvet-lipstick_1459266/

Lipstick= Good if you want a classic lipstick that keeps a natural shine, cheaper,not as long lasting, fairly long lasting but may need to reapply every 2-3 hours. (To be honest if you want a lipstick I would probably choose a different brand)

£7.99 from Boots=http://www.boots.com/en/Bourjois-Rouge-Edition-Lipstick_1290744/

961638_10152731157908233_881149361_n (2)

Have you tried these products, if so, which one do you prefer? 🙂

This entry was published on February 20, 2015 at 2:42 pm. It’s filed under Beauty and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Why you should cheat on your lipstick

  1. These lippies look so beautiful ❤ I loved your post!

  2. i have the lipgloss in “personne ne bouge!”, which is a bright, scarlet red. I LOVE it. I live in Canada so they are only available at Shoppers Drug Mart for 20$…!

Leave a comment